## CHESHIRE EAST COUNCIL

Minutes of a meeting of the **Appeals Sub-Committee**held on Thursday, 2nd October, 2014 at Committee Suite 1 & 2, Westfields,
Middlewich Road, Sandbach CW11 1HZ

#### **PRESENT**

Councillor M Hardy (Chairman)

Councillors I Faseyi, B Murphy and P Whiteley

## IN ATTENDANCE

Maureen Hills Lawyer and Clerk to the Appeals Sub-Committee Sarah Tunstall Customer Quality Manager, Cheshire East Transport

(Presenting Officer)

Julie Zientek Democratic Services Officer

#### 19 APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRMAN

RESOLVED – That Councillor M Hardy be appointed Chairman.

#### 20 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were received from Councillor D Marren.

## 21 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were no declarations of interest.

# 22 PUBLIC SPEAKING TIME/OPEN SESSION

There were no members of the public present.

## 23 EXCLUSION OF THE PRESS AND PUBLIC

RESOLVED – That the press and public be excluded from the meeting during consideration of the following item, pursuant to Section 100(A)4 of the Local Government Act 1972 on the grounds that it involved the likely disclosure of exempt information as defined in Paragraphs 1 and 2 of Part 1 of Schedule 12A of the Local Government Act 1972 and the public interest would not be served in publishing this information.

### 24 SCHOOL TRANSPORT APPEALS - CASE 1

The Sub-Committee considered an appeal against the decision of the Cheshire East Transport Service not to allow assisted school transport in accordance with the Council's Home to School Transport Policy.

The Appellant attended the hearing. The Sub-Committee heard the appeal based on the oral and written evidence of the Presenting Officer, who detailed the Local Authority's case, and the oral and written evidence of the Appellant. Members of the Sub-Committee asked questions by way of clarification.

The Presenting Officer and the Appellant withdrew from the meeting, following which the Sub-Committee reached its decision.

RESOLVED – That the appeal be dismissed.

The meeting commenced at 2.00 pm and concluded at 2.40 pm

Councillor M Hardy (Chairman)